The Who & Quadrophenia
The Who & Quadrophenia
Wild About Music

The Who & Quadrophenia

Regular price $50.00 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Take a deep dive into one of the best-selling albums ever on the 50th anniversary of its release with this beautifully produced and authoritatively written slipcased edition.

Veteran rock critic 
Martin Popoff leaves no stone unturned in taking apart The Who’s generation-spanning masterpiece, Quadrophenia, while exploring each of the album’s 17 tracks and their themes of identity, anxiety, and mental health. Chapters cover:
  • The state of The Who as of 1973, including their role in Mod culture
  • The recording sessions at famed Olympic Studios and the band’s own Battersea location, including techniques used
  • Song-by-song studies of each album side, including analyses of lyrics and the guitars, drums, keyboards, and synthesizers employed by members Pete Townshend, Roger Daltrey, John Entwistle, and Keith Moon
  • The 1979 motion picture based on the album’s song cycle
  • The continent-hopping tours that supported the album
  • The rock group’s trajectory post-Quadrophenia, including notable albums and tours

Popoff also takes you on side journeys examining each band member, 
mod vs. rocker culture, the album’s famous graphic design, manager/producers Chris Stamp and Kit LambertQuadrophenia collectibles, and more. There’s even a brief discography and complete LP tour dates.

Presented in a 10" × 10" 
slipcased book, The Who & Quadrophenia is illustrated with stunning performance and candid off-stage photography as well as rare memorabilia.

The result is a richly presented celebration and your ultimate tribute to the rock opera masterpiece.